Ernest K. Lehmann Memorial Scholarship


The Ernest K. Lehmann Memorial Scholarship (Lehmann Scholarship) was established in 2014 by the Ernest and Sarah Lehmann Family Fund of the Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundations. Ernie Lehmann had a distinguished career as an exploration geologist and mining entrepreneur. He worked extensively in the Americas, Africa and Europe and was a tireless promoter of the mining industry, serving on numerous advisory committees and boards throughout his 60-year career. He was a charter member of the American Institute of Professional Geologists and received AIPG’s highest award, the Ben H. Parker Medal, in 1987. He received SME’s Ben F. Dickerson Award in 2005 for his contributions to the mining industry.

The Lehmann Scholarship is awarded annually to one or more students pursuing an undergraduate degree in geology or geological sciences. Because of Mr. Lehmann’s ties to Minnesota and his love for the region, preference will be given, but is not limited, to eligible applicants with personal connections to Minnesota. Applicants must have completed their sophomore year of studies at the time of application. A cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher is required.

Paul Odewale2022 Ernest K. Lehmann Memorial Scholarship recipient 
Paul Odewale, Federal University of Technology Akure

 NOTE: All incomplete SME Foundation Scholarship applications will not be considered.

Submission deadline: October 15, 2023

Submission Procedure:

Applications must be submitted online
Qualifications and Requirements (PDF)

Application process is now closed

If additional information is requested, contact or 303-948-4200 or 800-763-3132.

Support the SME Foundation programs: