John Voigt, Chairman of the Pennsylvania-Anthracite Section of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration announces the 2019-2020 John Kaminski Memorial Scholarship for mining-related engineering or science majors for students living in the regions of Pennsylvania and New Jersey within the boundaries of the Pennsylvania-Anthracite Section.

One (1) $1,000.00 - Graduating High School Senior or College or University Undergraduate

The grant is for enrollment and attendance in an engineering or science program related to mining at a school in the commonwealth of Pennsylvania or State of New Jersey.

Information about the scholarship grant can be obtained by going to, or by contacting us at:
Pennsylvania Anthracite Section SME/AIME
C/O John R. Ackerman, P.E., P.G., BCEE, F.NSPE, F.ASCE
Scholarship Chairman at

The deadline for consideration for the 2019-20 Scholarship is May 15, 2020.
A check for $1,000 will be presented to the scholarship winner at the Section’s Annual Meeting and Dinner in late June prior to the fall semester. The student and their parents, if available, will be guests of the Society.

SME's Pennsylvania Anthracite Section members John Ackerman and Frank Derrick, awarding the 2012-2013 John Kaminski Memorial scholarship to Walter Price. Additional awards were given to Angela Moyer and Jordan Oakill.