Ernest K. Lehmann Memorial Scholarship

2016-2017 Ernest K. Lehmann Scholarship recipient Melanie Zondag, Michigan Technological University, with Kate Lehmann

The Ernest K. Lehmann Scholarship (Lehmann Scholarship) was established in 2014 by the Lehmann Family Fund of the Saint Paul Foundation and the Twin Cities Subsection of SME (SME TC) and the Minnesota Section of SME (SME Minnesota). Ernie Lehmann had a distinguished career as an exploration geologist and mining entrepreneur. He worked extensively in the Americas, Africa and Europe and was a tireless promoter of the mining industry, serving on numerous advisory committees and boards throughout his 60-year career. He was a charter member of the American Institute of Professional Geologists and received AIPG’s highest award, the Ben H. Parker Medal, in 1987. He received SME’s Ben F. Dickerson Award in 2005 for his contributions to the mining industry.

The Lehmann Scholarship is awarded annually to one or more students pursuing an undergraduate degree in geology or geological sciences. Applicants must have completed their sophomore year of studies at the time of application. A cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher is required.


Submission deadline: October 15, 2017

Submission Procedure:

Applications must be submitted online
Qualifications and Requirements (PDF)

 Apply Now

If additional information is requested, contact or 303-948-4208 or 800-763-3132.

Support the SME Foundation programs: